Author Topic: Nihilistic Demos - Zombie Apocalypse and Conan  (Read 7316 times)

Dragon

• Administrator
  • Platinum Level
  • Have you played my board game?
    • Rival Troops
Nihilistic Demos - Zombie Apocalypse and Conan
« on: September 30, 2009, 09:35:44 »
I tried out a couple demos on the PS3 before I went to bed last night. I hadn't realized before hand that they were both from a studio called Nihilistic.

Zombie Apocalypse was the first one that I downloaded. I guess I was expecting something more like Half-Life or Resident Evil, but when I started playing I thought of an old game that I played on the PS... I think it was called Loaded. (Yep, found a clip on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zyXTzvIVnjc) From the video on YouTube though, it looks like Loaded was more fun. Being stuck in one small area with a bunch of zombies to fight with a chainsaw and a randomly-placed-gun just didn't do much for me. After about 10 minutes of that I shut it off and tried out another demo that I had previously downloaded.

As a fan of Conan The Barbarian, I just had to check it out the Conan game. Of course, as soon as I saw the opening credit with Nihilistic my expectations dropped. I was glad that I hadn't gotten my hopes up too high. For a PS3 game the graphics weren't very impressive and the voice actors had no flare. (For example, the comments that Conan said while fighting were so unenthusiastic that the character might as well have been reading a newspaper.) Of course, after playing God of War on the PSP, the bar is set pretty high for that style of game. The controls were clunky though, and to top that off, the tips that came up to would completely interupt the game, unless you happened to be jumping a lot at the time, since X is the jump button and the button for continuing the game after tips pop up.